Menu

samwiebe.com - the website of award-winning writer Sam Wiebe

Perfect for fans of C. J. Box and William Kent Krueger, a sleepy town is rocked to its core when a dead body is found in this debut novel.


In the quiet seaside town of Blaine, Washington the most serious police work involves dealing with stray coyotes or ticketing speeders along the I-5. But on Ethan Brand's first day as the town's chief of police, he finds a threat on his porch, along with a gruesome souvenir, a bloody animal heart. 


There are plenty of people who are upset about Ethan replacing the last Chief, but when a body shows up on the railroad tracks, Ethan has to turn his focus from the threats against him to the first homicide case the town has seen in years. Blaine's population is only five thousand, but eight million vehicles pass through its railroad crossing every year. It's the perfect site for drug smuggling, human trafficking, larceny, and murder. 


Ethan begins to realize that the small town has many more secrets than its quiet surface suggests. With no one to trust, his job already on the line, and the threats getting bolder and more reckless, Ethan Brand must find the killers and bring them to justice before anyone else winds up dead.

"A Lonesome Place For Dying by Nolan Chase is the real deal. What reader can resist experiencing a blue-eyed coyote? And a heart in butcher paper left on a back porch. And that is just the beginning...The reader is compelled to live inside this well-told, exciting, and realistically drawn story. Here is hoping that Nolan Chase has a long and illustrious career."
Steve Aberle, Great Mysteries and Thrillers

"A Lonesome Place for Dying is a stunning first novel introducing a new, badass, hunk of a hero in Ethan Brand, the PNW heartthrob you didn't know you needed. This book is chock full of deadly characters, salt-water-soaked secrets, and delivers a twist that made me gasp out loud."
Meredith Hambrock, author of Other People's Secrets

“Fans of Craig Johnson and CJ Box will enjoy Nolan Chase’s debut novel. A Lonesome Place for Dying is a slow burn mystery that builds to an explosive finish.”
Melinda Leigh, bestselling author

“Chase debuts his lonesome, reflective lawman with this well-written, complex case. Fans of Craig Johnson’s Longmire will enjoy.”
​Library Journal (starred)

 

Nolan Chase lives and works in the Pacific Northwest. A Lonesome Place for Dying is his first book featuring Ethan Brand.